Farrago Slam! Championships for 2004

Thursday, 16th December, show starts 7:30
The Farrago UK SLAM! Poetry Championships Finals
George Bernard Shaw Theatre, RADA, Malet St, WC1

Niall Spooner-Harvey (above) Sophia Blackwell (below)
above: Niall Spooner-Harvey, London qualifier; Sophia Blackwell, South of England qualifier (photo: O'Neill)


Qualification round – open to ANY poet. A limited number of slots can be reserved in advance by poets coming from outside of London. E-mail for details. The rest of the slots will be allocated on the night, we will fit in as many poets as we possibly can. There will be three final slots available.

The qualification round will be followed by the finals of Europe’s longest running National Slam!

The final will include the qualifiers on the night and Regional Champions including: Sophia Blackwell, (South of England), Crysse Morrison, (West of England), Niall Spooner-Harvey, (London).


Anna Sher and Fran Landesman[L to R] special judge: Anna Scher (photo: O'Neill); featured guest Fran Landesman (photo: Maryrose Storey)

Special judges: Anna Scher, dramatist and peace activist; Casey Abaroyne, Scribes UK founder; and audience members chosen on the night!

Breezefeatured guest Breeze (photo: O'Neill)


Special guests: Fran Landesman, legendary poet and lyricist, accompanied by her son Miles; and Breeze, US spoken word star and vocalist.

Emcee: John Paul O’Neill. Tickets: £6/£4.

This event is supported by Forward Press. PLEASE BOOK TICKETS IN ADVANCE FOR THIS EVENT. Call the RADA box office: 0207-908-4800. (10:00 AM - 6:00 PM) Credit cards accepted.

Friday, 21st January, show starts 7:30
Farrago New Year SLAM! & Zoo Award Ceremony
RADA Foyer Bar, Malet St, WC1.

Britain's first slam of 2005 and the presentation of the longest running spoken word awards, voted for by you! With performances by the nominees and special guests.

Farrago Poetry: A Decade of UK SLAM!

Farrago were the first group to run a poetry slam in Britain, on 19th February 1994, and are organisers of the longest running slam competition in Europe, the Farrago London SLAM! Poetry Championships. Read some of our history.

John Paul O'Neill

For more info...

Email the host,
John Paul O'Neill
Join our mailing list.

... or...

Write directly to:
Farrago Poetry
108, High St
West Wickham
Kent. BR4 OND.

Pictured on the left: Farrago MC John Paul O'Neill